Skip to main content

State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR)

In 2009, the 81st Texas Legislature passed House Bill 3, which required the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to increase the rigor of state assessments so that performance standards would clearly indicate students’ college readiness. The new STAAR tests replace the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS). STAAR will continue to test the content standards of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS); however, the new tests will assess the state curriculum at a greater level of depth and complexity than previously and emphasize the skills that are needed to be successful in the next grade level or course.


To access your student’s scores: 

You will need your child’s date of birth and social security number to access scores online. Click “find my access code” and enter the student’s information. 

Which subjects will be tested with STAAR?

At grades 3–8, students will be tested in mathematics and reading. Students will also be tested in writing at grades 4 and 7, science at grades 5 and 8, and social studies at grade 8.

Beginning in the spring of 2012, high school students will no longer take grade level assessments. Instead, they will take end-of-course (EOC) exams according to the classes in which they are enrolled. Middle school students who are enrolled in high school courses will also be required to take the EOC tests.

The 5 EOC assessments are listed below:





English I

Algebra I



English II

U.S. History 






Where can I go for more information?

More information is on the TEA website, including FAQ’s and sample questions.